Min L - tutor
 

Min L

Tutorfair Verified Badge

Verified

(6)
(6)

£60.99 / hour

£60.99

CambridgePhD+OxfordMedicine+Edin MSc,various rates&subj

I'm dedicated, determined and warm-hearted; my goal is to help you to achieve your goal.
- I'm one of the few people who have been to both Cambridge and Oxford Universities. I lived in Cambridge and Oxford for over 7 years in total and I know what they want from candidates; I know what you can improve and achieve within a limited time frame. I can advise you on your personal statement, CV and how to choose the best college for you.
- Prior to my time at Oxbridge I spent a year at Edinburgh University studying for a master’s degree; so I have first-hand experience of studying at several top rank UK universities.
- I am familiar with both undergrad (UCAS) and postgrad applications in the UK, in scientific subjects and medicine.
- I am very good at preparing for exams and was myself a question writer for one of the major websites for UKCAT (United Kingdom Clinical Aptitude Test) preparation. (UKCAT is used in many medical schools to screen the candidates even before they see anything else in your application and tests candidates on verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, Abstract reasoning and Decision analysis.)
- I love Mathematics and numbers. I was trained for the Mathematical Olympiad since primary school in China and won a prize twice. This training made me stand out at all math-related aptitude tests and some shape-related aptitude tests, e.g. GRE (US graduate entry exam), UKCAT and many professional psychometric tests for job applications.
- At age 15 in the high school entrance exam (Chinese, Math, Physics, Chemistry, English, Politics), I achieved 100% in both Maths and Physics and 98% in Chemistry. I was ranked no.2 overall among 7000+ students locally, securing a place in the best local school.
- In China, I was trained to teach my classmates since a young age and I still see it as one of my responsibilities in life to help people; I was their friend as well as their student teacher. Apart from organising daily revisions for the whole class in the morning, I had a special job to focus on whoever sat next to me, a rotating seat for those who ranked in the bottom of the class. I was so proud that I had helped several of them to move up their rankings from the bottom to the middle or even the top 10! My reward was that there was always someone new seating on that seat in a new term!
- At Oxbridge, I have seen so many talented students who came from comprehensive schools and did well in Oxbridge! For those of you who might not dare to think of Oxbridge seriously because you are from a state school, here I am. Please do remember, Oxbridge is open to everyone who is talented; if you need my help to realise your dream, please contact me and don't give up!

Teaching is not my full-time profession. I use my teaching to support kids who can't afford, to promote social mobility and increase fairness in education opportunities. I also volunteer for Tutorfair to teach children from an underprivileged background.

**
My tuition rate include: preparation time, actual teaching time, communication time, travel cost (London!) and agency charges. Rates and discounts for different subjects and client groups see below:

DISCOUNT FOR: A) CHILDREN FROM UNDERPRIVILEDGED SCHOOLS (there is a list of schools in the tutorfair office); B) group teaching (25% off for each individual); C) you come to visit me at local public libraries/cafe/park near my home or work.

- Chinese (children) 38/hr for all levels. (discount only subject to BC).
- Chinese (business) 60/hr
- Maths (school children): 60/hr (subject to all discount categories)
- Olympiad Maths (primary school level), aptitude tests, UKCAT 80/hr (subject to all discount categories).
- All (except below) professional aptitude tests for adults, UKCAT (graduate entry) and GRE (maths, logical reasoning, shapes) 100/hr
- For MBA, banking and financial sector maths-related tests: 300/hr
- Oxbridge admission and advice, PS, interview 100-1000 as a whole package, with time limits.

(Please do not try to make a phone call, if you see a phone call button at my page, it is not activated. I apologize that I do not receive phone calls as I have a full time job and not a full-time tutor. Please use the message. Many thanks.)
watch video

Availability

Tutors’ availability changes often, so we recommend you send them a message before booking a lesson.

Click on a time slot to book a lesson.

Don't see the time you want?

get in touch

no lesson selected

add to basket


  • Available
  • Booked

Reviews and References

There are 8 reviews or references for Min.

Written by

Min's advice on PS editing is very useful.

I asked Min to help with editing my Personal Statement, with which to contact the university faculties. She is very stratigic and thoughtful. She doesn't just go from word to word, instead, she taught me a system to write a PS. In the first editing, she adviced me the structures of PS writing; in the second version, we went further to make every statement solid and supported them by evidence. She also helped me to realise the skills I have gained from certain experiences that I didn't appreciate its value. I have received significantly more responses than before from the labs that I am interested in. I strongly recommend you to get Min to advice on your PS if you are looking for a wit strategy.
Subject:
Common Entrance Admissions
Outcome:
The response rate to my applications is much higher than before, and I also learnt the approach which I will adopt for the future use.
Written by

Min is a very patient and responsible teacher and very friendly.

We went to the high school together and she was my deskmate and was arranged by our teachers to help me with my studies. She helped with all subjects but mainly Chemistry, Math and Physics in my case. She answered all my questions with great patience and I never felt being put off. She enjoyed showing me some interesting questions and stimulating my interest to work the questions out. I like her approach. My ranking in the class went up quickly. In addition, I got an up-going spirit from her to pursue an education experience abroad. Two years after she went to study in the UK, I managed to apply to study in Japan which experience is crutial for me to get a job to do business between China and Japan.
Subject:
Chemistry (A-Level)
Outcome:
I felt the motivation to study and to pursue my own career.
Written by

Min's tutoring on Mathematics and Physics Tutoring was fun, stimulating and effective.

Dr Liu tutored me in Physics and Mathematics during my High School education in China. She adopts a very thorough and dedicated attitude towards every single teaching session that she kindly did for me, and she always came prepared with an agenda and lesson plan for each session. The sessions were focussed and mentally stimulating, yet they were also informal and relaxed. Each session was geared towards addressing my weaknesses in problem solving, as well as harnessing my innate interests in these subjects through interesting and witty questions that she carefully devised to illustrate the flexibilities in thought and strategies that were needed to solve questions that I had found previously very difficult and challenging. Dr Liu was also excellent at condensing and simplifying convoluted and challenging concepts and conceptualising them using simple analogies to aid my understanding. Through her dedication and thoughtful lesson design, she was able to ignite my interest in Physics and Mathematics, and my examination results improved significantly. Dr Liu also taught me the importance of identifying recurring themes and patterns in questions, and gave me the confidence to apply my knowledge to solving problems in unfamiliar situations. Dr Liu's methodical teaching and conscientious planning was a big factor that enabled me to do well in my High School Graduation exams, and her energetic and enthusiastic approach further convinced me to study these subjects (in the form of Engineering) at university. Thanks to her effective tutoring, I feel that I now have far better and more systematic and solid knowledge in Mathematics and Physics, and I have furthermore carried Dr Liu's diligent style of teaching and her effective methodology into my own teaching of students.
Outcome:
I am now studying Engineering at degree level, and Dr Liu's excellent teaching sessions has furthermore motivated me to become a tutor myself, so that, just like her, I can use the methods and strateg
Written by

Great Mandarin Tutor

Min was very friendly, patient and instructive. My son learnt to write characters and speak Mandarin. He is 13 and studies Mandarin at school and was falling behind, but no longer, he now is top of the class.
Subject:
Mandarin
Outcome:
Top of the class
Written by

Subject:
UKCAT
Written by

Subject:
Maths (GCSE)
Written by

Subject:
Maths (GCSE)
Written by

Subject:
Maths (GCSE)
see 3 more

Education and Qualifications

Min's education and qualifications are listed below.

University

Institution
University of Cambridge
Degree
PhD
Institution
University of Edinburgh
Degree
MSc (Res)
Grade
Distinction
Institution
University of Oxford
Degree
toward BMBCh

School

Prizes and Scholarships

Prize for Mathematical Olympiad (China). 1999.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathematical_Olympiad
Darwin Scholarship - fund for a PhD in biomedical subjects in any UK institution. I eventually chose Cambridge.
Overseas Research Scholarship - granted, rejected,
Edinburgh College PhD studentship - granted, rejected.

Other Qualifications

UKCAT overall: 2900 (year 2010, top 7%):Maths 810, Decision Analysis 830: within the top 1% of UK medical candidates. (A Note for comparison: Kaplan tutor's minimal score is 2600).
I started the graduate-entry medicine course at Oxford in 2011.

Subjects

Subjects taught by Min are listed below.