Melissa B - tutor  

Tutor in Banbury, Oxfordshire

£50.00 per hour

(4 reviews)
(4 reviews)


Dynamic and experienced English teacher.

I am an author and journalist, who has a TESOL qualification and I teach IELTS. I love helping people to learn English and usually help with cultural and practical situations through my work. I am an author and journalist who has written books on cultural history, history of fashion and essays on cultural history through media. I write obituaries and articles for national newspapers and magazines here and in the USA. I also studied Film at University. I have done courses in research, through the London School of Business, worked on financial PR campaigns and prepared speeches, brochures and editorial for various companies. I have worked in theatre and I am currently at work on a screenplay and a non-fiction book.
I have been teaching since 1996 and trained at International House. I have taught children and adults and lectured at museums both here and abroad. I have experience teaching children and adults with dyslexia. I also teach Drama for LAMDA board examinations. I am enjoying teaching English, Theatre Studies, Media and Fashion History. I like to tailor my teaching to the needs and interests of the student, encouraging reading around the subject. I am quite flamboyant, which helps when teaching beginners, but equally enjoy meeting the challenge of teaching advanced learners with an accent on finding material in their own field of interest.
I am keen to tailor lessons to the student's needs in business, work or study. I have recently taught students who needed help to work in the specialist car design industry and a student who studied anatomy at university.I have taught business English and also had success teaching children who need to adapt to new schools. My approach is positive, encouraging and practical. I have two grown children, who have very different learning styles, so I think it is important to take this into consideration when devising lesson plans and marking work.
Hourly rate: £50.00
Type of tutoring: In-person and Online
Your first lesson is protected by our Money Back Guarantee
Lesson cancellation: at least 24 hours notice required

Reviews and References

(4 reviews)
(4 reviews)

English Tutor

Written by Linda Y
Melissa made an impact from the first day. She enabled my son to gain confidence in his own abilities .
We actually looked forward to the lessons, it wasn't a chore because Melissa would explain clearly the homework and her lessons were always fun . My son was prepared fully to do his GCSE , he felt confident and ready to sit the exam.
My son passed his GCSE, which in turn has opened new oppertunities for him. Without Melissa we would still be floundering .

The most helpful tutor

Written by Anna Athina P
Mellissa is a very good and reliable person , very good tutor with experience on her job and she can manage the problems can be found in front of her .she is very kind and helpful as well. Thanks for alla your help :)
English Language
she is the best choice as tutor for someone to have on his side

Excellent Tutor

Written by Kishan B
Melissa is a fantastic tutor who pushed me to achieve the grades I needed for university. Melissa also went above and beyond by setting work and marking in her own time. She was always easy to contact if I needed extra support. Melissa always tailors her lessons to her individual students needs and is always well prepared.
Melissa is friendly, approachable and ultimately I would not have achieved the grade that I had without her clear lesson plans and guidance.
English Literature
I'm now studying Law at university and acquired the grade B at A-level

Written by Katia C
11 Plus
Show more reviews and references

Education and Qualifications


English & American Literature with Film Studies


Other Qualifications

TESOL 1996 International House


Tutors’ calendars change often. We recommend that you contact MELISSA if you don’t see the right slot.

No lessons selected add to basket

  • Available
  • Booked