Keon E - tutor  

Keon E
Tutor in Ilford, Essex Greater London

£30.00 per hour

Qualified TeacherRussell GroupDegree

About Keon

Native Italian fully qualified teacher.

My name is Keon. I grew up in many countries around the world, so I feel at home almost anywhere.

I come from a mixed background. My father was half Italian half Swedish, my mother Italian. My family is originally from a small town North-West of Florence, in Tuscany, so my accent in Italian is very neutral (or otherwise standard).

I have been teaching for many years now and even after having completed my doctorate, teaching remains one of my great passions. I am fully qualified and have worked in many schools and universities around the world. From Britain to Australia to Italy as well as many companies in the City of London and elsewhere.

I speak a few languages besides my native Italian. In fact, I grew up bilingual, or even trilingual, from a very young age so I am aware, also on a personal plane, of the difficulties that arise from confronting oneself with the learning of another language(s).

I follow different methodologies as I prefer to adapt them to the student, or students, I am teaching to and not vice-versa. As such, I try to be as flexible as possible and use a wide range of resources and didactical material. From controlled structures (I wrote my first master's thesis on them) and grammar books to games, newspapers articles and internet blogs. I make full use of the most advanced teaching methods as, for example, those employed at the Università di Siena (Corso di glottodidattica). From a CLT (Communicative language teaching) approach that interjects a range of pedagogical ideas translating them in an applicable methodology to the implementation of the use and application of play techniques in what the Italians call 'ludological glottodidactics' - if I have a younger student - or otherwise cogenerative dialogues, deductive and inductive approaches and so on, for those who are more mature students.

Additionally, I am on the board of examiners for Italian Edexcel and also teach Geography at GCSE level as well as History at all levels (My PhD, in fact, focused on Intellectual History).

On a mere personal account, I consider myself being a warm, down to earth, and approachable individual. I prefer informality to formality and despite my academic achievements I remain very humble in what is that I think I know.

If interested to know more, please do get in touch.

E se volete studiare in italiano la Divina Commedia o la storia posso organizzare un corso per voi. Non dovete fare altro che contattarmi.
Grazie a tutti!
Hourly rate: £30.00
Type of tutoring: In-person and Online
Qualified Teacher
Your first lesson is protected by our Money Back Guarantee
Lesson cancellation: at least 24 hours notice required

Reviews and References

Education and Qualifications


University College London
BA Italian studies
University College London
MSc Environmental studies
Imperial College London
MSc Scientific and Medical Translation
University of East London
University of Sydney


A Levels
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Other Qualifications

I am also a qualified translator with many years of experience



Tutors’ calendars change often. We recommend that you contact Keon if you don’t see the right slot.

No lessons selected add to basket

  • Available
  • Booked