Kat C - tutor
 

Kat C

(2)
(2)

£40.00 / hour

Inspiring and experienced tutor in central london

Hi, I am New to tutorfair !

My name is Kat, and I am a cancer researcher at the Barts Cancer Institute, I am currently working on finding new biomarkers for diagnosing prostate cancer. I completed my BSc Biochemistry at Imperial College London and I was a biochemistry mentor at Imperial, providing Junior students with guidance throughout their studies. I have a wide range of hobbies, such as music and art, however, they did not hinder me from achieving high academically (I took 5 subjects at A-level and 11 subjects at GCSE, and achieved all A*/A). I want my student to understand and learn in an efficient way as well as enjoying life.

----------Bioloygy, Chemistry, Maths----------

I enjoy teaching and have been tutoring for 5 years, I teach Biology, Chemistry and Maths. All of my students provide positive feedback towards my way of teaching, I care about students, and I wish that they could learn to love Science and Maths and be self-motivated to learn more. A real enhancement will require the coorperation of the student and a change in attitude. I believe that everyone is capable of getting an A*, given that they can follow my instructions. Every student is different, I put emphasis on encoruraging students, and generating natural interest and understanding in them. I have found that this approach helps students quickly build confidence, improve motivation, grasp concepts, and to realise their potential - all key to exam success.

I am very experienced in boosting exam grades and there are numerous successful cases that I was able to help motivated students to acheive higher.
Case studies:
-I helped a student to achieve A* from B in GCSE biology in 2 months (Through providing guidance to revise efficiently and improving exam techniques)
-I helped a student to achieve A* from C in GCSE biology in 3 months
(Through creating a revision plan that takes account of our memory forgetting curve, enhancing understanding and exam techniques)
- I helped a student to achieve A from C in GCSE Maths in 6 months
(Through enhancing understanding and adjusting revision habits)
- I helped a top GCSE chemistry student to acheive a near full marks in 2 weeks (Through identifying weaknesses in handling exam questions)

For all long-term students, I will spend the first lesson a pre-assessment to understand their need specifically, then based on that I will design lesson plans so that they learn in an organised manner. What makes me different from other tutor is that
1. I teach my student how to study effectively and efficiently
2. I extract what I learn from part-time courses such as 'memory training' and
'study support' and deliver these to my student.
3. I provide top tier revision materials and additional practise questions
4. I provide constructive feedback for students on exam practises

For younger kids:
5. I am very patient and I have special strategy to attract kids to learn

For Maths specifically:
6. I introduce unique ways of doing maths different from the conventional way
7. My experience studying Maths in Asia and the UK provided me unique insight of learning Maths, which allowed me to deliver my teaching in a way that can train my students to be a master in Maths gradually as well as enjoying it.

----------Music-Piano----------

I am also a dedicated musician, I have achieved ABRSM diploma in Piano, grade 8 vocal and grade 6 flute. Started piano at the age of 4, I was active in various pianoforte competitions and have acheived good results, I also performed for charity and weddings. My music style and teaching method was greatly influenced by my professional teachers such as Marco Fatichenti (an internationally acclaimed performer) and Alvin Moisey (hailed by The Times as a 'pistol-packing pianist' and ). To make unceasing progression in piano, I participated in serveral master classes during my free time such as a full time 1 week piano master calss held by the Italian Cultural Institute of London. Due to my passion and acheivements in music, I was nominated as the chapel and concert choir captain at Uppingham school. In 2011, I took part in the broadcast on BBC One at the Royal British Legion's Festival of Remembrane singing to the Royal Family. I have also been elected to be part of the Bach Choir, performing in the Royal Festival Hall. My recent works include the St John Passion and Mozart Requiem.

I have 2 years of piano teaching experiences, I believe that other than making the lesson enjoyable, it is very important for beginners to build up a solid foundation in technique, sightreading and gesture.

----------Thanks for reading----------

Reviews and References

There are 2 reviews or references for Kat.

Written by Grace J

Outstanding tutor

Kat has really helped my daughter with her Maths GCSE preparation and confidence. She is punctual, friendly, prepared and has a great teaching method. My daughter had previously struggled in Maths and was initially predicted a C grade, but with Kat’s help, she achieved an A grade at Maths ! I would happily recommend her to anyone.
Subject:
Maths
Outcome:
A grade at Maths GCSE
Written by Ann L

Well organised, professional and friendly

Kat tutored my son for over a year, and his grade has improved significantly. I am pleased with the tuition my son received from Kat. She made him feel at ease from the very beginning and my son always looks forward to the lessons. She is kind, patient, knowledgeable about the curriculum, always well prepared and makes learning fun.
Subject:
Maths
Outcome:
GCSE Maths A* (2016)

Education and Qualifications

Kat's education and qualifications are listed below.

University

Institution
Imperial College London
Degree
Biochemistry

School

Prizes and Scholarships

Academic Scholar at Kingsley School

Subjects

Subjects taught by Kat are listed below.


Availability

Tutors’ calendars change often. We recommend contacting the tutor even if you don’t see the right slot.

No lessons selected

add to basket


  • Available
  • Booked