Isadora P - tutor  

Isadora P
Tutor in Oxford, Oxfordshire

£27.00 per hour

About Isadora

Bilingual teacher in Oxford

Even though I was born and raised in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, English was always part of my life, I learned how to read and write in English before I did in Portuguese. I started at The British School when I was 5 and graduated when I was 18, having taken the IGCSEs and IBs. My parents love telling stories of how I used to say half of the sentence in English and the other half in Portuguese until I was 10. To be honest, I still do that with some friends from The British School and with my husband, who, of course, is English.

I started teaching in my first year at University, as a part time job, in an English course near PUC (my Uni). I ended up staying there for 5 years and working more than 40 hours per week, teaching the most varied age groups and levels.

After that I wanted to experience the “school atmosphere” and it was my first experience teaching Portuguese as a first language (writing, grammar and literature) to High School students. It was a great opportunity and it was also where I met my husband. But I missed teaching ESL and the flexible schedule that enabled me to also study and pursue other interests.

I then went back to English teaching in the afternoons in a course, teaching my own private students in the morning and starting to teach online also. I kept this for almost 3 years until I moved to the UK.

Now my business is fully online, apart from the occasional tutoring and some groups in Language schools.

In my first online job at EnglishUp I was promoted to Mentor after just 2 months and I was responsible for delivering training sessions to other teachers, as well as keeping up with my students. Due to the flexibility of working from home I was able to take many online courses myself in the past year or two and I have learned a lot from this (including an amazing one with Penny Ur). I have learned new strategies as a student learning online and as a teacher delivering materials online.
Online education interests me a lot and it’s a field that has so much more to offer.

At the moment I’m finalizing my DELTA studies for Module 1 and I’ll be sitting the exam in December.
Hourly rate: £27.00
Type of tutoring: In-person and Online
Your first lesson is protected by our Money Back Guarantee
Lesson cancellation: at least 24 hours notice required

Reviews and References

Education and Qualifications

University

School

Other Qualifications

In the middle of my DELTA degree

Subjects


Availability

Tutors’ calendars change often. We recommend that you contact Isadora if you don’t see the right slot.

No lessons selected add to basket

  • Available
  • Booked