Emily P - tutor  

Emily P
Tutor in Runcorn, Cheshire

£50.00 per hour

5.0
(1 reviews)
(1 reviews)
Qualified TeacherDBSDegree

About Emily

Passionate Professional Tutor and Education Adviser

I am a full-time private tutor & educational consultant with over five years of experience. I am an English Literature graduate (BA) of the University of Aberystwyth where I especially enjoyed papers in Anglo-Saxon, Medieval, female empowerment and Viking Sagas. Moreover, I am due to become a full member of The Tutors' Association (a governing body that protects the professional integrity of the industry). Throughout university, I was editor of the University newspaper; AberInk and a voluntary counselor. Following on from University I gained my PGCE with the University of Chester via the School Direct programme, beating 200 other applicants for one of the 20 places available. I was exposed to the latest in education theory and pedagogical techniques during the revamp of the National Curriculum. I have recently embarked on the prestigious MRes with Swansea University. The highly acclaimed Medieval Literature department only accepts proposals from two students every three years.

I am passionate about education and feel I have the creativity, patience, experience and pedagogical knowledge to deliver a high-quality tutoring service to a wide range of age groups and abilities. My main subjects are Primary, English Literature, English Language and History, which I tutor to all school levels (A-level, IB, GCSE, IGCSE etc.), 11+, 13+ and 16+. Additionally, I tutor English Literature and History to undergraduate level.

In my capacity as an educational consultant at Lifetime Training, I am in a unique position to offer advice and guidance to parents and pupils regarding finding the right school, college and university course. Moreover, I tutor and consult for six other tutoring firms, in addition to Tutorfair. This has allowed me to gain much experience of the 'virtual learning environment' (Skype tuition, Scribblar etc.), over 3,000 hours to be exact. This learning style encourages students to develop their communicative skills, as they must defend their solutions verbally, rather than rely on the tutor to infer from their writing. Over the next few years, I expect to see a shift towards e-learning and online based tuition and away from conventional 'face-to-face' tuition, optimising the time of tutor and student.

It is my belief that the most important quality a tutor must possess is an appreciation of the individual requirements, needs and aptitudes of each of their pupils. Furthermore, I ensure that I identify and develop the natural learning style of each of my students, enabling them to achieve their intellectual potential. This is supported by marking of past papers, notes on exam strategy, and the regular setting of homework. Additionally, I submit a comprehensive written report to both student and parents after each session and encourage my clients to contact me out of hours if they have any questions or concerns.

I work with all kinds of students. I have experience with supporting those with specific aims and targets. However, I also have worked with those who need me for different reasons. For example, I have a lot of experience working with students who suffer from eating disorders and mental health complexities. I find these kinds of students to be similar to all students in that they need their own personal teaching method. However, I have the qualifications and experience with work with their conditions to ensure they have the same opportunities as everyone else.

Moreover, I understand what it is like to be young and want to make the most of your educational opportunities. From fourteen, I used my school holidays to gain experience in different industries such as law, film, editorial and journalism which have shaped me into the adaptable and confident person I am today. Professionalism and reliability are the backbone of my service.

Away from education, my main interests include CrossFit, tennis, swimming, singing and my research.

If you are unable to see a time that suits you, please contact me with your preferred time and day as tutoring schedules constantly change. I always try my hardest to fit in my students regardless of the day or time.
Hourly rate: £50.00
Type of tutoring: In-person and Online
Background check on file
Qualified Teacher
Your first lesson is protected by our Money Back Guarantee
Lesson cancellation: at least 24 hours notice required

Reviews and References

5.0
(1 reviews)
(1 reviews)

Wonderful Tutor

Written by Emma M
Emily is a wonderful tutor and has taught her full range of subjects; Primary, English Literature, English Language, History, and RE to all ages of our clientele.

She is always very popular with both parents and students, striking up a lovely relationship with both. This is her key ingredient to ensuring her students succeed. All of her students have progressed and hit their targets. Emily makes it clear that it is a team effort between her and the student to ensure their target is hit.

Emily also has a great range of teaching methods to ensure her lessons are tailored individually to each student.
Subject:
English Literature
Outcome:
Excellent tutor.

Education and Qualifications

University

Aberystwyth University
English Literature
2:1
Chester University
PGCE
Distinction

School

English Literature
A Levels
  • English Literature
    A
  • History
    A
  • Law
    B
English Literature
GCSEs
  • English Literature
    A
  • English Language
    A
  • History
    A
  • Religious Studies
    A

Other Qualifications

2017 - Swansea University P/T – MA by Research (MRes) Medieval English Literature

2016 - Kings College London – Caring For People With Psychosis and Schizophrenia
The Open University - Understanding Dyslexia

2015 - NSPCC Recruitment Programme
Online Academics - Counselling Children and Adolescents
Diploma

2012 - TA NFCE Level 2 and 3

Subjects


Availability

Tutors’ calendars change often. We recommend that you contact Emily if you don’t see the right slot.

No lessons selected add to basket

  • Available
  • Booked