Dyi H - tutor  

Dyi H
Tutor in Clerkenwell, Central London

£29.99 per hour

4.9
(9 reviews)
(9 reviews)
100+ Tutorfair hoursRussell GroupPrizes or ScholarshipsDegree

About Dyi

Social Sc., Qualit. methods, Essay writing & Dissertations

Hello,

I am Dyi (‘Gee’), a PhD candidate in Sociology at a Russell Group University. I provide academic support with qualitative methods and data analysis, critical reviews and critical thinking skills, and essay and dissertation planning and writing. I also review written work.

I have supported hundreds of students (BA, MA, ProfDoc) from various disciplines, such as Sociology, Criminology, Political Science, Counselling Psychology, Management, Public Health, Social Work, Physiotherapy etc.

Before working as a private tutor, I taught Sociology and Qualitative Research Methods at various universities in the UK. I also have two decades of international experience as a mentor, trainer and I am a certified and experienced group facilitator.

I offer a relatively low fee to keep my services accessible to students who cannot afford high rates.

I am currently completing my PhD in Sociology at a Russell Group University. Before, I studied internationally in the areas of Social Sciences, International Relations, Spanish and Portuguese, and I am natively fluent in Dutch (I am from Amsterdam). I have published and taught in the fields of, for instance, gender, race, disability (incl mental health), intersectionality and inequalities, power (relations), social movement studies, social theory, and a variety of qualitative research methods.

I offer the following private tuition:

(1a) I provide academic tuition: I support students in Social and Health Sciences with, for instance, essay writing, qualitative data analysis, research design and study skills. This also includes mentoring.

(1b) I provide academic review services: I will review essays and dissertation by providing detailed, in-depth comments.

(2) Exceptionally, I provide Dutch tuition as well as Dutch conversation classes.

Do not hesitate to contact me with your request so we can see how and when we can work together. For practical information, see the T&C at the bottom.

I look forward to working with you!
Dyi


TERMS & CONDITIONS

** I only work through online video platforms (as Skype, Zoom, Vsee), e-mail and telephone (i.e. no house visits).

** Because of TutorFair policy, I can only provide you my details for this after you have booked a session.

** In case of the in-depth reviewing of documents, I charge 750wds/hr. We arrange these as if they were face-to-face sessions. I will provide detailed comments in the margin as well as general comments per e-mail. You will receive the document with comments per e-mail by the agreed time. If you like, we can discuss the comments and questions you might have in an additional face-to-face academic tuition session.

** I have a 24hs cancellation policy for tuition and conversation classes (face-to-face or per telephone), where I charge 100% of the agreed fee. For the reviewing of documents, I also have a 24hs cancellation policy, but charge 50% of the agreed fee.

** I only work with adult students in Further and Higher Education (BA-PhD level). Unfortunately, I cannot support A-levels or GCSE students.

** I cannot provide support with quantitative methods.
Hourly rate: £29.99
Type of tutoring: In-person and Online
Your first lesson is protected by our Money Back Guarantee
Lesson cancellation: at least 24 hours notice required

Reviews and References

4.9
(9 reviews)
(9 reviews)

Reference for Tutor at Tutorfair

Written by Reem S
Dieuwertje was very effective and methodical in helping me organise my thoughts and academic work. She has an ability to cut through chaos by asking precise and thought-provoking questions that both challenged me and also helped me arrive at my own conclusions. She is very well informed and extremely observant and articulate. She works in a very organised, consistent and reliable way and always engages with warmth, respect and encouragement.
Subject:
Study Skills
Outcome:
Having made last minute changes to my subject, Dieuwertje guidance made it possible for me to organise my thoughts and successfully complete my MA dissertation within a very limited timeframe.

Graeme S

Written by Graeme S
Dieuwertje was absolutely first class. Her assistance was perfect - very knowledgeable. Her input was excellent and really gave me the perfect guidelines and direction. It was a pleasure and education to work with Dieuwertje.
Subject:
Sociology
Outcome:
A successful outcome and enhanced knowledge and understanding.

Excellent tutor

Written by Sunny B
I highly recommend Dyi as a tutor. She reviewed my essay for my BSc degree and provided me with very clear and concise feedback. She is very efficient, welcoming and flexible in her approach, which I am grateful for. I would definitely use Dyi again for any academic help I may need in the future. (I also agree with the review below, she really is great!)
Outcome:
Very successful!

Great tutor

Written by David T
Dyi is a really good Dutch tutor, teaching and explaining everything clearly and accurately.
Subject:
Dutch
Outcome:
Learned a lot.

Written by Bianca W
Subject:
Sociology (Degree)

Written by Sarah L
Subject:
Other

Great teacher/tutor!

Written by Sam M
Currently learning Dutch with Dieuwertje and I'm already learning a lot with only 1 hour a week. Really friendly and takes her time with me.
Subject:
Dutch (Degree)
Outcome:
Still learning :)

Intro session

Written by Linda K
Really good intro session asking appropriate questions to understand what will be required
Subject:
Psychology (Degree)
Outcome:
Agreement on next steps

Feedback for Dyi's lessons

Written by Linda K
I was initially sceptical as the prices were quite cheap and I had never done online tutoring before. However, Dyi has been instrumental in helping me achieve a high 2.1 (almost a 1st) in my first assignment. Dyi provides very good advice on essay structures and research methods and doesn't tell you what to do, but helps unpick the ideas from your mind. I highly recommend her and feel confident that I will continue to do well with her support.
Subject:
Criminology
Outcome:
Excellent!
Show more reviews and references

Education and Qualifications

University

Leiden University
MA in Languages and Cultures of Latin America
8/10
University of Amsterdam
BA Minor Cert in International Relations
NA
University of Manchester
PhD in Sociology
current

School

Prizes and Scholarships

FWSA Essay Prize, 2011
Sociology, University of Manchester Teaching Bursary, 2009

Other Qualifications

PTLLS, Level 4
Working towards Higher Education Academy (HEA) Fellowship status (this is the national HE professional accreditation)

Availability

Tutors’ calendars change often. We recommend that you contact Dyi if you don’t see the right slot.

No lessons selected add to basket

  • Available
  • Booked