Andrew L - tutor  

Andrew L
Tutor in Sandhurst, Kent Greater London

£38.12 per hour

(2 reviews)
(2 reviews)
10+ Tutorfair hoursDegree

About Andrew

A highly enthusiastic, motivated and great communicator.

Throughout my life I have always appreciated the impact that teachers have had upon me, particularly during my school years. I realise that the knowledge and skills that were my building blocks have been used by me throughout my life. I found that the better the teacher, the greater my interest in the subject matter. Therefore, as a teacher, I would help to open young minds to develop an interest that would feed an understanding of the chemistry, biology and physics of the world around us.
The knowledge and understanding that I gained through my schooling and my working towards a Batchelor of Pharmacy (B.Pharm) Honours degree has enabled me to help people throughout my life. The course covered a wide scientific base, from organic Chemistry, through Physiology, Pharmacology, Radiology and drug formulation to the understanding of extraction and synthesis of drugs from natural sources I believe that my current understanding and interest of Chemistry, Biology and Physics form a solid foundation from which I continue to develop the skills and knowledge specific to teaching these subjects through GCSE and up to A Level.
I worked for 37 years as a community pharmacist, manager of small and large teams and as a staff trainer on medicines packaging and time management systems. I have been an NVQ assessor and a registered mentor for the development of many post graduate pharmacy students throughout their final qualifying year. I have trained staff, some of whom were initially thought unsuitable and are now very competent.
I helped to run, along with my ex-wife, a youth wing of our local amateur dramatics society and I recently worked as a driver for the local youth club double-Decker bus that was taken into local towns and villages. I enjoyed the interaction with these young people.
I came out of community pharmacy about five years ago, I wanted to work as a teacher using my scientific and educational background. During the past three years I have gained a broad range of practical and people skills. I have worked for the last eighteen months as a private science and 11+ tutor, with some considerable success.
I am patient and able to break down barriers and develop rapport which enables me to form easy and appropriate relationships. I understand the needs of individuals and am experienced at working with people of all ages from diverse backgrounds. Furthermore, I am able to put complex ideas into everyday language and to make passing knowledge interesting.
Hourly rate: £38.12
Type of tutoring: In-person and Online
Your first lesson is protected by our Money Back Guarantee
Lesson cancellation: at least 24 hours notice required

Reviews and References

(2 reviews)
(2 reviews)

First lesson

Written by Juliet G
Andrew was fun and interesting and made science accessible and relevant. Thank you - look forward to further sessions
Biology (GCSE)
A block of lesions arranged and booked

Science year 10 work

Written by Juliet G
Fun and engaging, Andy has covered a lot of ground in 5 lessons. My son very motivated and happy to have these sessions.
Biology (GCSE)

Education and Qualifications


School of Pharmacy. London University
B Pharm (Hons)




Tutors’ calendars change often. We recommend that you contact Andrew if you don’t see the right slot.

No lessons selected add to basket

  • Available
  • Booked